Another Birth Control Option? Hmm…

WARNING: If you get icked-out talking about hetero sex (at all, or) in a way that’s not “sexy”, this post is not for you. I’d warn my mom and dad like a lot of people who write personal blogs, but I was lucky enough to grow up with a mom and dad who have been totally awesome about this kind of stuff since I was a child. Maybe it’s because my mom’s a bit of a lovechild and my dad is a physician, but it’s probably the reason I  (a)  don’t have any STDs and (b) have never been pregnant. Something to think about.

/disclaimer

LET’S TALK ABOUT SAFER SEX! IT’S BEEN TOO LONG! And some of you are NOT PRACTICING. I’m not naming names but YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE.

Well I’ll be.

Just got the news that the Today Sponge is coming back.

I love birth control, I must say. And I love that there are all different kinds to choose from. I’ve long been a Nuvaring girl, myself* and pretty much lurrrrve it. But now that there is another choice…I’m considering it.

Like most responsible girls, I started out on The Pill. But taking that thing at the exact same time every day? Yeah, it didn’t always happen. I sucked at that. Which is why I went for the ring. You insert it and forget about it for 3 weeks. You can’t even feel it. Awesome.

However: PRICEY. My insurance does not cover the cost. WHICH IS LAME. And especially lame because my insurance would be only too happy to cover the cost of any of the plethora of erectile dysfunction pills for me. If I was a man. And needed a hard-on. To have an orgasm. Into, possibly, an unprotected vagina. Which makes all kinds of sense. Really.

I HATE THAT.

So, what I’m waiting to hear about is how much these little spongies cost. Then I’ll have to draw up some kind of spreadsheet predicting just how much sex I’ll be having over the next calendar year, crunch some numbers, and voila. If it’s less $ then I’m going to get a cute little bedside container for my nightstand. Because I do things like that. Cute things. Cute things that involve my vagina.

What would be totally awesome is if the sponge-people made their, um…widget biodegradable. Entrepreneurs: Hello, market niche! I’ll even come up with your tagline: Save the earth from unnecessary latex AND babies! Ha, just kidding, I LOVE babies. Seriously. Just not in my own uterus. Right now. Oh, who am I kidding? There is no way any humorless anti-choice zealots have made it this far.

So, ladies and gents**: What is your method of choice? Will you consider the sponge?

* And condoms, of course, for those non-monagamous “relationships” where the right time for the “So, tell me about your STD history?” question hasn’t…er… come up. (And asking that question in bed is obviously not going to getcha a straight answer.)

** Yes you should be thinking about this too. Duh. You should also offer to pay for half of it. And also, DO NOT flush condoms down the toilet. (Yes, I “knew” someone who did this.)

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Another Birth Control Option? Hmm…”

  1. tangobaby Says:

    ha ha ha, I love this. I have to say that “the Today Sponge is coming back” is taking me wayyyy back in time to my naughty high school years. Oh lord.

Comments are closed.


