Dear Holden (A Long Lost Letter)

Holden,

I’m driving in San Francisco … rushing to a shoot … I’m almost at Lombard street … screeching of brakes … scraping noise … dust … smoke … people crossing the street everywhere … Instinctively I open my backpack on the passenger’s seat … grab my top camera … release my steering wheel while slowing down … There it is … car turned upside down on the edge of the center divider … driver is being pulled out of the vehicle … appears OK … I’m still 200 feet away … too far and bad angle for a shot … The street clears up … cars are making room … I roll down my window and snap three shots while driving by … it’s 7:38 … the cockpit is totally mangled … miracle … no blood anywhere … lights of the car are still on … I wish the driver well … turning into Lombard street I see peeps frantically calling on their cell phones … the first cop car arrived and motions me to leave the scene I go on with my business but kept thinking throughout the day of what I’ve seen … 5 hours later I finished a shoot, dropped a model of at her studio and was on my way to the airport … What happened to the driver ?

BTW, where did you pick up French ?

Tags: , ,


