Work Is Good When You Have It

Today is the first day of my new schedule. I’m working on Favor Company on a weekday! Somehow I’ve managed to cram my part-time secretary job into four days a week, so I don’t have to do insane 12 hour days anymore. Or so I think it will work this way.

Today is also the day Natalia got laid off from her pretty sweet advertising job.

I am nervous. Anxious. Like everyone.

Natalia is from Ukraine. I’ll be honest, it was one of the reasons I hired her to be my assistant years ago. She’s tough, and has been through much worse. And she has her green card now.

I told her that, of anyone I know, she is probably the best prepared for this depression in the U.S.

This kind of anxiety is challenging for me. It’s low-level malaise, not panic attacks, but it makes it hard to focus when all I want to do is go off to dreamland in my bed.

I watched a lot of television news yesterday. Terrible idea. It’s difficult to realize it at the time, but the sensationalism of TV news contributes directly to our panic. Not that I think ignorance is bliss, but something about reading a full story in a paper, or even online makes everything less scary.

Tags: , , ,


