Going Back To The Archive Project

I’ve been working with archives, obsessed with the idea of archives (and symbolic systems in general) for about three years now. A few things have come from my Archive Projects:

1. A interaction-based digital installation piece, published on the web and shown at The Design Guild show I did (Mode: Meme). The piece no longer exists, except as perhaps cached items living somewhere. I haven’t really scoured for bits of evidence. This was my first venture into the Dewey Decimal System, used to organize an archive of images and poems. It was kind-of a “choose your own adventure” experience, where clicking on categorical links would take you throughout this collection of visual stimuli. It was a simple set up of my computer as kiosk, a really radical projector borrowed from “the AV department” of a superbig Silicon Valley corporation, and a chair next to a table with a mouse facing a blank white wall in a little dark room of the gallery.

2. The Holden Archive, an archive of photography found on the internet

3. Project Evidence, a blog-based project co-authored with Tony Delgrosso. We’re still messing around with it. It’s pretty new and there’s not much there so far.

Right now I’m back to investigating the Dewey Decimal System as a method for organizing new ideas of The Book. In particular, a blog (this one) as book, or even a collection of books (posts).

See, the thing is, I think I must have been a librarian in a past life or something. I still play with the idea of going back to school for (yet another) Master’s degree, this one in Library Science. Jack’s sister is actually in a program right now, and I’m quite jealous of her, but it’s also one of the many reasons I think she’s totally the cat’s PJs.

Anyway, what this means is that I’m about to completely reorganize this blog with the DDS. I’m not exactly sure why, aside from the aforementioned obsession with symbolic systems and archives and archival methodology. So, yeah, this should be fun.

Is anyone else into this kind of stuff? Links, books, recommendations, ideas and general stories of collective obsessions are (as always) most welcome here.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Going Back To The Archive Project”

  1. sflovestory Says:

    Nathan Bowers just called me Conan the Librarian. I’m going to take that as a compliment.

    xx Holden

Comments are closed.


