Last Saturday Morning: My Dad and Jack

Thanksgiving seems like a blur to me now and I have no idea how I packed so much stuff into last weekend.

This is a photograph of Jack in the morning. Everything was so quiet and nice.

Jack with Coffee and the New York Times

Jack with Coffee and the New York Times

My dad had pulled me aside earlier to tell me how much he liked Jack, which of course made me beam. I think my dad’s a pretty good judge of character. And Jack likes my dad. The night before we all went outside, my dad made a little bonfire in this bonfire pit they have and the men shared a stogie and we talked about travel. Later in the morning, we spotted a buck in the backyard.

This five-point buck appeared in my dads backyard. He was beautiful.

This five-point buck appeared in my dad's backyard. He was beautiful.

I for one am not used to seeing wildlife in the Chicago suburbs. But Dad’s new house is on this golf course and right next to a forest preserve.

I caught him one last time as he ran away.

I caught him one last time as he ran away.

Maybe it was that everyone was getting along. Maybe it was the way I’d opened my heart to my dad’s engagement and the idea of new family. Maybe it’s just because of a lot of hard work in therapy, but I felt so peaceful last weekend. I didn’t have even one panic attack either.

I left Jack and my dad and went upstairs to take a siesta. They were talking about sports and watching sports and I could hear them laughing. And I was proud.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Last Saturday Morning: My Dad and Jack”

  1. Rudi Amedeus Says:

    You should be proud !

    Rudi.

Comments are closed.


