The Ghost Hunt

My sisters and I can be a little eccentric at times, but most especially when it comes to spooks. I’m pretty logical and scientific about the whole thing, but I’m able to pretty much turn off my brain in order to let myself get that little rush of adrenaline.

The night before, we’d made a pact with the Parkers that we’d go ghost-hunting at Bachelor’s Grove Cemetery on Friday.

This is a photo someone else took around 1950.

This is a photo someone else took around 1950.

Friday was also the day Jack was coming down from Milwaukee to Chicago to meet my dad and sisters for the first time. I’d left a brief voice message on his phone that we’d be taking him on an adventure, but I was scant on the details…after all, Jack is a “for real” scientist and I didn’t want him protesting.

Nancy and I were taking a smoke in the garage (which became our designated area throughout the stay at my dad’s place…not as nice as being able to smoke in the greenhouse of our old home, but at least we didn’t have to freeze outside. The temperatures in Chicago were around 30 degrees F).

As usual, Jack showed up on time (as in, on the dot). I introduced him to the family and we were off to Midlothian, Illinois, just south of Chicago. We had to first stop at the Parkers home and pick up Audrey. The idea was to get to the cemetery before sundown, for the obvious reason. SPOOKY!!!

Nancy

Nancy

Of course, any time one makes plans with the Parkers, expectations should be that nothing will happen until at least a full hour after the plan is set to commence.

me

me

Not to mention that the drive from my dad’s north of Chicago to the Parkers’ west of Chicago is about an hour or so to begin with.

Nancy

Nancy

After getting lost somewhere near Blue Island (yes, there is a town with no shore called Blue Island in Illinois), we finally made it to the Bachelor’s Grove Forest Preserve. It was pitch black. The “path” we were deciding on whether to take was an overgrown footpath. We turned off all the lights in our car and the Parkers’ car to see what we’d be dealing with. Blackness.

Everyone started to get more than a little creeped out. Just as we were making our final decisions whether to stay or go back the next day…the Cook County police made the decision for us.

Audrey

Audrey

Which of course, was pretty much all the adrenaline we needed. See my “Blair Witch”-esque video below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Parking ticket in hand, we traded Audrey into the Parkers’ car and Nancy, Jack and I made the trip back up to my father’s for dinner.

No ghosts. But it was a fun adventure nevertheless. Blue Island is, well, something.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


