Bamboo To The Rescue

I’m going to cut to the chase right here: Jack and I had been having a difficult time as of late. No lack of love, for certain, but serious stress in both of our individual lives plus major business traveling had equated to: Hey, Remember When We Used To Hang Out?

The bamboo forest was Jack’s idea. We needed to reconnect (sorry to sound like Cosmopolitan there). And we needed to do it away from the City, away from his roommates, away from my computer flashing like a magnetic marquee “Pay attention to me! You have a To Do List of 836 things!”

Sunday morning, we gathered up our myriad cameras, my pup and loaded into the station wagon (the Triumph GT6 is broked). Destination: Aptos.

Bamboo Giant Nursery is located on 31 acres in Aptos, California, just 3 miles from Monterey Bay. With over 15 acres planted in bamboo, it is one of the largest displays of timber bamboo in North America.

Black Bamboo

Black Bamboo

Having spent four years at UC Santa Cruz (GO SLUGS!), which is just north of Aptos and Bamboo Giant, I was pretty amazed I’d never heard of this place before.

It was just us and the bamboo.

It was just us and the bamboo.

I thought I knew of all the cool places in Santa Cruz: the secret watering hole where we used to go skinny dipping in the summer, the secret surf spots, the secret beaches, the coolest drive through Bonny Doon, the best fruitstand…but I found myself in this wonderland of giant bamboo stretching four stories up into the sky thinking simply, “Wow.”

Walking the paths, Jack looked so happy with his Holga.

Walking the paths, Jack looked so happy with his Holga.

It was impossible not to feel childlike again. Prima ran about the paths, sniffing scents that were surely brand-new to her. And Jack and I took photographs and kissed and marveled like little kids.

The color was incredible. The light was perfect.

The color was incredible. The light was perfect.

I love San Francisco. Part of the reason this blog exists is to express my love for the City. But sometimes, I don’t realize it but I really need to be whisked away from my comfort zone of concrete and car horns.

To a green place.

To a green place.

To soften a little.

“I needed this,” Jack said.

He was happy. We were laughing.

He was happy. We were laughing.

It was quiet, a little damp. The air was the clean and clear and as soon as the fog caught up with us, and took away our light, it was time to go.

And I was happy, too.

And I was happy, too.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Bamboo To The Rescue”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Looks like a revitalizing adventure! Great photos, thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.


