Operation New Apartment: Kitchen Big Reveal

I’m seriously cracking up just looking at the words “Big Reveal”.

Okay, so the deal was that my apartment is/was super shappy not-chic. And with the help of my sisters via photos and over-the-telephone advice, I am doing a full makeover.

My goal is to spend as little money as possible.

I have now finished the kitchen.

Dollars spent: $0

And now, the before and after photos…

SET ONE

Before

Before

Nancy and Audrey said I needed to take out the ugly purple chair, move the red curtains to the window (Audrey said something about the line of sight or eyes or something), and move the plants to the windowsill. I trust Audrey not only because I’ve seen her do her thing, but because she works for, like, the best decorator in Dallas who charges, no joke, $500/hr. Mmmkay? Dude.

After!

After!

* * *

SET TWO

Before...

Before...

...and AFTER!

...and AFTER!

Here I essentially got rid of a bunch of crap I don’t need or use, and put the rest away. Storage? Wow. New concept. And then I cleaned with lots of elbow grease.

* * *

SET THREE

Before...

Before...

...before...

...before...

...and after.

...and after.

Lots more elbow grease. But aren’t you jealous of my oven? Loves it.

* * *

SET FOUR

Before...

Before...

...after.

...after.

Nancy was like, “Um that’s a pretty container, but dog food is not pretty.” She had a point. Dog food is now under the sink. I’m not sure what I’m doing with the big candy jar yet. I rarely hold onto candy long enough where it would require a container other than my tummy.

* * *

SET FIVE

Before...

Before...

and after...and...

and after...and...

a bonus after!

a bonus after!

I’m really proud of my little plants. I grew them from seeds. The one on the left is calendula and the one on the right is coriander. Yay.

* * *

WHAT SET ARE WE ON?

Before

Before

Before

Before

AFTER

AFTER

AFTER

AFTER

Trying to use Audrey’s advice of “Like goes with like.” She says that “Collections are okay, and long as you put the stuff together.” Hence my stack of white cups.

* * *

FINALLY

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

* * *

So, w00t for me.

Coming up: The Office

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Operation New Apartment: Kitchen Big Reveal”

  1. Havi Brooks (and duck) Says:

    I LOVE it. I want to move into your kitchen right this second. It is so so so cheery and reminds me of living in Europe.

    Right now we’re moving from a place with a tacky, appalling “modern” kitchen with gross designer avocado-colored walls and black counters to a place with much sweeter kitchen but still frightfully modern with all sorts of ridiculous and obscene appliances we’ll never use.

    This is exactly what a kitchen should like like, in my opinion!

    And hooray for red curtains!

  2. Havi Brooks (and duck) Says:

    And of course when I say “like like”, I mean “look like”. I just really like the word like, apparently.

  3. M. Says:

    Nicely done Holden. I particularly agreed with your decision to remove the mountain of dirty dishes from the kitchen sink although you might have considered leaving the crumbs on the counter. They had a certain kichey appeal I thought.

    srsly though, looks good

Comments are closed.


