Come Together

I’ve felt a lot of anger and resentment these past days. A friend sent me a link to a site that shows you how to file an IRS claim form against the LDS Church. I was very temped to do it. I think, “You want to meddle with politics and civil rights? Fine, then you shouldn’t have the tax exemptions you do.”

I got a message in an email from the No On 8 campaign today. I quote from it, below, because it made me take a step back and remind myself that not only do I want a state and country that recognizes the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered/sexual people, I want to live in a place free of hatred.

Something about practicing what we’re preaching…

I’d love to know what you think. Emotions run high, here. It’s difficult to be loving and accepting of those who disagree with us. But where will punishing others get us?

We achieve nothing if we isolate the people who did not stand with us in this fight. We only further divide our state if we attempt to blame people of faith, African American voters, rural communities and others for this loss. We know people of all faiths, races and backgrounds stand with us in our fight to end discrimination, and will continue to do so. Now more than ever it is critical that we work together and respect our differences that make us a diverse and unique society. Only with that understanding will we achieve justice and equality for all.
Dr. Delores A. Jacobs
CEO
Center Advocacy Project

Lorri L. Jean
CEO
L.A. Gay & Lesbian Center

Kate Kendell
Executive Director
National Center for Lesbian Rights

Geoff Kors
Executive Director
Equality California

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Come Together”

  1. Victoria Marinelli Says:

    Amen (as it were). Also, People For the American Way hosts some wise words on the “blaming black people” issue.

  2. bigepaz Says:

    Great email.

    I’m so disappointed with California that it hurts, but the authors of the letter are absolutely correct. We cannot leash out in anger (by throwing eggs at people) who voted “yes”. I think we should take the high road and continue to protest peacefully and educate.

    Our country achieved something huge on Tuesday night — the election of an African-American to the Presidency. That’s something that took years of discrimination and pain to overcome.

    I suspect that one-day gay rights will also be achieved. If there’s one thing I learned from Obama through the campaign — we need to stay calm and patient, yet use our intelligence and passion to drive change.

  3. Jack Says:

    As a straight man, this issue does not have a direct influence my choices and options, but I am admittedly against the idea of taking away rights from anyone. As a lover of someone who identifies as a LBGT person, and even thought we could get married, I still wanted a victory on Tuesday night. The process of standing up for what one believes in can be along and drawn out process, and as long as we are divided 50-50 nothing will be resolved in a timely manner. Victories will be temporary, and permanence will elude both sides.
    I applaud the call for education,we need to shift the 50-50 split we need to recruit people to a place of understanding. Being blessed or burdened with a scientific mind, I wonder what a plot of time verses civil right victories would look like. With out the aid of a graphical display. I feel the ratio of human and civil rights to oppression is increasing. The trend is on our side. I believe over the last century we live in a time of the least oppression.
    Unfortunately the force we are up against is very organized. Take Churches as an example. They meet weekly, and collect money weekly.
    Calvin Coolidge said, “The only difference between a mob and a trained army is organization.” Although this effort is not as disorganized as a mob, but we are up against a very organized and efficient front.

    Stick together, educate people on the “fringe” and “in the middle” and never give in. Winning by 51% will not yield us a victory that will withstand the test of time. We need more people, and with the historical civil and human rights trend of this century, we may have to be patient and steadfast.
    We don’t have to dig in we get out and interact.

Comments are closed.


