Books For Girls

Maybe you’ve heard of the phenomena of the popularity of two recent HarperCollins publications: The Dangerous Book for Boys and The Daring Book for Girls. I’ve flipped through both at the bookstore, and while I will say that the cover design is gorgeous, I’m skeptical of most gender-based stuff.

Here is a reading list I found, alongside the books, to take home. It lists “Books That Will Change Your Life”, but only for girls, supposedly, as there’s a different list of books for boys (forthcoming). You be the judge:

20 Girl Classics

  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
    • I think I read at least part of this one as a child…I mostly remember everyone talking about how great it was, and that I was nonplussed.
  • Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery
    • I loved Anne of Green Gables until I realized she was somewhat of a dope. Never heard of the other one.
  • Behind Rebel Lines: The Incredible Story of Emma Edmonds, Civil War Spy by Seymour Reit
    • This sounds pretty awesome. Anyone read it? Thinking of adding it to my reading list.
  • Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
    • Never read it. Didn’t they make a move out of this one? Never saw it. Anyone?
  • Caddie Woodlawn (and the sequel, Magical Melons) by Carol Ryrie Brink
    • Never heard of these, but the hero’s name sounds like golf.
  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
    • This is a sad story, but I’d hardly say it changed my life. I didn’t become any nicer to spiders.
  • The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton
    • ?
  • Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
    • It has to be better than the Nancy Drew series, right?
  • The Illyrian Adventure by Lloyd Alexander
    • Is this, like, a dumbed down Illiad? Anyone?
  • A Little Princess and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    • OK, I’m going to come right out and say The Secret Garden was most definitely one of my favorite girlhood books. If I’d have known about the other one, I’m sure I would have read it. I still have dreams about that garden, though. I go there a lot.
  • Keep Climbing, Girls by Beah E. Richards
    • ?
  • Little Women and Jo’s Boys by Louisa May Alcott
    • I loved Little Women, maybe because it’s mostly the story of a young writer. Or maybe because of the sisterhood. I’d always try to match up my sisters and me to the characters, though there are only three of us.
  • Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
    • Just never went for this.
  • Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt
    • I wonder if Schmidt knew he was writing a book FOR GIRLS! OMG!
  • Mandy by Julie Andrews Edwards
    • Wait, not that Julie Andrews, right?
  • Matilda and The BFG by Roald Dahl
    • Yeah, I think it’s rather pointless to go ahead and list two of Dahl’s books if you’re not going to list them all. I still think The Witches was my favorite. Otherwise, I approve of this listing.
  • Miss Happiness and Miss Flower by Rumer Godden
    • I know nothing of these books except that the titles make me want to vomit. Maybe they’re ironic? Anyone read these?
  • Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
    • She annoyed the fuck out of me. Then and now.
  • The Ramona series by Beverly Cleary
    • I know I read at least one of these and I can’t seem to remember a single thing about any of them.
Tags: , , , , ,


