Dramamama

I love my mother dearly, but I think she is starting to lose it.

Mom: hi babe

me: Hiya!

Mom: how is everything going? are you still sick[1]?

me: Everything is smooth sailing. I’m feeling better. Prima[2] got SUPER sick last night though. I was up all night cleaning up doggie diarrhea and vomit. Ew.

Mom: yuk. what did she get into? any word from your sister, she still is not answering me.[3]

me: I don’t know. Probably something she ate off the street when I wasn’t looking. Anyway. No, I haven’t heard from her. I think it’s going to take some time.

Mom: I just hope I don’t die before this is resolved. we never know how long we might have.

me: Mom. Please stop being so dramatic.

Mom: I am being realistic

me: Look, what are you going to do? Sit around and hope you don’t die? That is most dramatic thing I’ve heard all week. Come on :)

Mom: accidents happen all the time, got to go wash the dye out of my hair. Had a beautiful day walking with my dog on the beach this morn. before all the people came. I love the beautiful sea.

me: You are very strange sometimes.

Mom: Not me. bye

______________________

WTF?


[1] I felt ill last Friday. Nothing major.

[2] My dog.

[3] My youngest sister is not speaking to my mother because my mother sent an email to our dad (her ex-husband) detailing a whole bunch of shit my sister had confided in my mother regarding my father and his girlfriend. Mom also (inevitably) used this email as an excuse to shake her finger at my dad, under the guise of “I was just trying to help.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Dramamama”

  1. sflovestory Says:

    Just a PS:

    I have been my mother’s support system for as long as I can remember: once I was old enough to understand my father’s alcoholism, then through the divorce (of which I was an advocate), and now post-divorce where my father is sober and doing quite well, and my dear mother is not recovering quite as well. Finally, after years of encouraging her to talk to a therapist, I’ve had to (what’s the psych-speak word?) oh, detach a bit.

  2. moyawatson Says:

    holden —

    i love your blog and your tweets. thanks for being out there.

    re:

    >>>
    accidents happen all the time, got to go wash the dye out of my hair. Had a beautiful day walking with my dog on the beach this morn. before all the people came. I love the beautiful sea.
    >>>

    i find that nearly poetic…

    you obviously have a very ripe and interesting family.

    thanks so much for visiting my blog as well.

    cheers and see you on twitter,
    -m

  3. moyawatson Says:

    ps: wishing your dog all the best. we had a cat like that once… he was really, really, like a dog in so many ways.

Comments are closed.


