Dr. M


Dr. M is my therapist. Best one I’ve ever had. She practices and is one of the pioneers of Dialectical Behavioral Therapy. I’ve been seeing her for four years now and have no plans to stop. She is brilliant, and funny, and young.

We talk about love, sex, boyfriends, illness, my dad, my mother, The Business, my anxiety.. the usual things. With her help, my life has changed dramatically (though it feels sometimes slowly).

From time to time, I feel some embarrassment about seeing a psychologist. I’ve run into my share about people (my mother included) who think it’s not worth the time or money. I’ve had therapists less helpful than Dr. M, I will admit.

I’m tired of having to explain, or rather, defend my relationship with her. Given the real facts, the evidence, I should be proud.

Tags: , , , , ,


