Anxiety


Anxiety means mostly to me my disease or condition or affliction. Going back to the diagnoses I remember: Panic Disorder, Generalized Anxiety Disorder & Severe Anxiety Disorder. The symptoms of which, for me, result in tremors, agoraphobia, and panic attacks. I think my first symptoms started my freshman year in college which then got progressively worse. I self-medicated with alcohol and drugs, entered therapy, continued to drink heavily and use cocaine, Valium, and marijuana. I ended therapy when I moved to San Francisco. My addictive cycle became worse, as did my anxiety. Eventually this resulted in my suicide attempt, in 2003. I was taken to SF General Hospital, then to the Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital as a “5150”. After the stay in the looney bin, I moved back home and went to daily outpatient care. I now have a psychiatrist and psychologist who I see regularly, and take a variety of medication. I also do not drink or use drugs, and have not in four years.

Yet, anxiety also means here the social affliction, “The Age of Anxiety”, American anxiety.

Tags: , , , , , ,


